Enrolling Users

Learn about enrolment modes and how to manually enrol users into a session.

There are four different enrolment modes for assigning users to scheduled sessions as described below:

Enrolment Mode

Description

Self-Register

Allow learners to enrol into available sessions without requiring approval.

Approval Required

Learners may apply for sessions but will not be enrolled without manager approval

Two-Step Approval Required

Both manager and admin approval is required for learners to be enrolled into sessions

Admin-Only

Only admins are able to enrol learners into sessions.

This setting can be changed at the event-level and will restrict or alter a learner's ability to register for a session. In all cases, an admin can still manually assign a session to a learner as per the Admin-Only section below.

Learner Self-Registration

When an event's visibility is set to public or the URL is provided directly to a learner, the learner will be able to see all sessions scheduled in the future listed on the Event screen.

When self-registration is enabled (by setting Enrolment Mode to either Self-Register, Approval Required, or Two-Step Approval Required), the learner will also see an Enrol button next to any sessions with available places, clicking this button will allow the learner to apply for the session.

The places field can be used to restrict the number of learners who will be permitted into a session. As soon as the number of enrolled users reaches the places limitation, the Enrol button will disappear and be replaced with a Join Waitlist button as described in Session Waitlist below.

Self-Register

When the Enrolment Mode is set to Self-Register, the learner will be immediately enrolled into the session. The session will appear in their list of Assigned Learning and the learner will appear in reports as requiring to complete the session.

When this mode is enabled, a learner is also allowed to unregister from a session by re-visiting the Event screen and clicking Cancel next to the session they are enrolled into.

Approval Required

When the Enrolment Mode is set to Approval-Required, the learner must receive manager approval before being enrolled into the session. When the learner applies for the session and the user has a manager assigned to them, the manager will receive a notification requesting that they either approve or reject the learner's enrolment into the session.

While the learner's application is pending, they will appear in the Session Waitlist until the manager approves their application. Once approved, a learner cannot cancel their application themselves but their manager can return anytime to change the approval to a rejection.

Two-Step Approval Required

When the Enrolment Mode is set to Two-Step Approval Required, the behaviour follows the same process as the Approval Required flow but after the manager has approved, the learner will remain in the Session Waitlist with a status of Approved. An admin must now manually add the learner to the session before they will be enrolled.

Admin-Only

When the Enrolment Mode is set to Admin-Only, the learner will not see the Enrol button next to the session and will instead see the message "Registrations closed". In this case, learners can only be assigned via the Admin Registration method described below.

Session Waitlist

The Session Waitlist provides a summary of learners who have applied for a session but have yet to be enrolled. There are two different actions that can cause a learner to appear on the waitlist:

  • The session had reached capacity (the number of enrolled users exceeded number of available places) and the user requested to Join the Waitlist.

  • The event's Enrolment Mode was set to Approval Required or Two-Step Approval Required and the learner had applied for the session but they have not yet completed the process and become enrolled.

These two scenarios are differentiated by the population of the Assigned column. When the Assigned column is blank, the learner has explicitly joined the waitlist.

Otherwise, the Assigned column will be populated with the name of the manager with whom the learner is awaiting approval.

The Session Waitlist also allows admins to select any of the users on the list and perform the following actions:

  • Notify of Availability - A notification will be sent to selected users informing them that there are now available places in the session.

  • Add to Session - The selected users will be enrolled into the session and notified of their enrolment.

  • Decline - The selected users will be marked as declined and receive a notification informing them that their application was declined.

  • Remove - The selected users will be removed from the waitlist without receiving a notification or status change.

  • Email Selected - Opens the default email application with the email address of each selected user populated in the To field.

Admin Registration

Administrators are not constrained by the Enrolment Mode restrictions described above and are always able to manually enrol a user into a session.

Admins are also able to override the places field and enrol more learners than there are available places for a given session. It is the administrator's responsibility to ensure there will be enough space when the session is run.

To manually enrol users, follow the below steps:

1. Navigate to the Event and Session that you wish to assign a user to.

2. Under the Enrolled Users section, click the Add Users button to open a slide-out panel that will allow searching and adding multiple users at once. a) If desired, it's possible to copy and paste a list of users' unique identifiers (i.e. email address) to select multiple users at once. Just ensure each identifier is separated by a comma, space or new line.

b) Alternatively, manually search for users by name or unique identifier and select them individually.

3. Once you've selected the users you wish to add, click Add to assign the users to the session.

4. Click Save Session to finalise these changes - each learner will be enrolled into the session and receive a notification that they have now been assigned the training and must attend.